Book Review: A Time To Tour Ghost City

Thursday, October 27, 2016

Author: Anjum Choudhury
Personal Review:
Are you looking for a spooky story that will get you in the mood for Halloween? Look no further! I have a ghost story for you. When Anjum reached out to me about reviewing her book, I thought I would give a try.

In this book, we are met with adventure, mystery, and the unknown. The book itself is pretty short, so I don't want to give away too much or spoil it for anyone. That said, the author does a great job of creating scenes for where the major events take place.

I liked this book because it was different than the typical books I read. I was able to peer into a world that I don't know much about and I appreciated that very much. I recommend this book for those who are interested in learning about new places or those who just love a good adventure. Thank you for the opportunity.

Disclaimer: I was awarded this book from the author. Though I did not pay for the book, the opinions are strictly my own.

Happy Reading!

Blog Tour: The Cryptic Lines

Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Hi Everyone!

Just stopping by with another audiobook review. This time I listened to The Cryptic Lines. This was just the book I needed to get me in a Halloween mood. 

The book is one in which we meet Lord Alfred Willoughby, who has to make a decision about his son. Should he leave him anything or not? That is when the idea for a set of puzzles or the 'cryptic lines' comes in. If you enjoy puzzles or learning about solving them, then this may be the book for you. I don't want to give away too much about the story or I feel like it may lead to spoilers.

I enjoyed this book as an audio book and this one seemed a little easier for me to handle then others I have listened to, because it was slightly shorter. I enjoyed the narrator and I am glad to have the characters come to life for me. 

If you are looking for a book that  will get you in the Halloween mood, then be sure to check this one out. Thanks Jess for the opportunity to listen to this book!

I received this audiobook as part of my participation in a blog tour with Audiobookworm Promotions. The tour is being sponsored by Jake Urry. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.


Audiobook Info

Audiobook Title: The Cryptic Lines
Author: Richard Storry
Narrator: Jake Urry
Publisher: Richard Alan Storry
Length: 4 hours and 13 minutes (unabridged)
Audio Release Date: March 16, 2016
Synopsis: Set in a sprawling gothic mansion in a remote coastal location, somewhere in the British Isles, the elderly recluse Lord Alfred Willoughby is deciding what is to become of his vast fortune after his death. Whilst his head is telling him to leave nothing at all to his wastrel son, Matthew, his heart is speaking differently. After much deliberation, in a last-ditch attempt to try and show to his son the importance of applying himself to a task and staying with it to the end, he devises a series of enigmatic puzzles cunningly concealed within the lines of a poem – the cryptic lines. If he completes the task successfully and solves the puzzles he will inherit the entire estate; but if he fails he will receive nothing. However, from Lord Alfred’s Will it emerges that Matthew is not the only interested party. The mysterious old house holds many secrets, and nothing is as it first appears…

Buy Links

Buy on AudibleAmazoniTunes


Author Bio

Richard is the author of four published novels, with his fifth “A Looming of Vultures” due for publication in 2017. Prior to writing his first novel, “The Cryptic Lines” he was very busy in the theatrical world: He composed the incidental music to Chekhov’s Three Sisters, seen in London’s West End, starring Kristin Scott Thomas and Eric Sykes, and subsequently broadcast on BBC4 television. His musical adaptation of “The Brothers Lionheart” premiered at London’s Pleasance Theatre, followed by a successful run at the Edinburgh Festival where it was voted Best Childrens’ Play. “The Cryptic Lines” has now been adapted for both the stage and screen.

Narrator Bio

Jake Urry is a British actor and audiobook narrator, and also co-founder of Just Some Theatre. Since graduating from an Acting degree course in 2012 he’s toured with Just Some Theatre as an actor and producer, worked on a number of commercial voice over projects and most recently started producing Audiobooks. Jake has produced over 10 titles since March 2016 and has rapidly found himself at home narrating Thriller, Horror, Mystery and Suspense titles. His audiobook work includes dark psychological thrillers White is the Coldest Colour and Portraits of the Dead by John Nicholl, occult mystery series The Ulrich Files by Ambrose Ibsen, and gritty Sci-Fi novel Shadows of Tomorrow by Jessica Meats.

Happy Reading!

Top Ten Tuesday: Reasons I love Halloween

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

Hi Everyone! 

Just stopping by with another Top Ten Tuesday!  This week's topic is Top Ten Tuesday is a Halloween freebie. I have to be honest, I dont read alot of scary books, so this is hard for me. 

So instead, I have decided to share with you the reasons I enjoy Halloween instead. :)

1) The weather! I love Fall and that it is finally cooler outside.

2) The candy. Can anyone say Reeses Peanut Butter Pumpkins? Yummy!

3) The costumes. I love seeing the kids excited and looking so cute! 

4) The trick or treating. Similar to 3, I get to give the kids candy. :) 

5) The food. People are so creative! Check out pinterest for lots of Halloween food ideas.

What is your favorite thing about Halloween? We can add them to this list!

Happy Halloween!

Book Review: Feng Shui on a Dime

Monday, October 24, 2016

Author: Stephanie Liang
Personal Review:

"Feng Shui is the ancient Chinese art of placement." In this book, the author shares with us tips on health, wealth, career, love and family. This book is full of tips on how to add new 'tools' for improving these areas of your life.

I enjoyed that this book is an easy to read format. The main points are called out in small box solutions and I enjoyed reading through them. The book has alot of insight about symbolism and how that can make a big difference in your life.

For those people who are interested in interior design, home improvement, or just trying out a new look in your house this may be the book for you. Thank you for the opportunity to read this book.

Disclaimer: I was awarded a copy of this book. Though I did not pay for the book, the opinions are strictly my own.

Happy Reading!

South America!

Sunday, October 23, 2016

Hi Everyone!

Happy Sunday. As you know I have been trying to post every once in awhile about other topics then just books here. Not too much, but just every once awhile. I thought I would share with you a few pictures from our recent trip to South America.

We had a blast! We got to see the Middle of the World Monument, the Andes Mountains, and the Amazon. Talk about a diverse place! It was a great trip.

Have you ever been to South America? What did you think?

Happy Travels!

Book Review: Class of 59

Saturday, October 22, 2016

Author: John Heldt
Personal Review:
A few months ago, I was offered the opportunity to review a couple of John Heldt's books. I enjoyed them, so when he reached out one more time I decided to review one of the new ones: Class of 59. This is 4th book in the American Journey series.

In this book, we meet 4 individuals who are interconnected through time travel and adventure. The book is one that takes you back and forth throughout the experiences in a seamless way that leaves it easy to follow and interesting to understand.

The thing I like most about this book was the pictures that the author creates for each scene. When you read the passages, you are quick taken to those places and it is easy to imagine. I imagine this book would be liked by those who enjoy Indiana Jones, or time travel books.

Thanks for the opportunity to read this book.

Disclaimer: I was awarded this book from the author. Though I did not pay for the book, the opinions are strictly my own.
Happy Reading!

Book Review and Giveaway: Pushing Perfect

Friday, October 21, 2016

Hi Everyone!

I am really excited to be here with you today to discuss a new book: Pushing Perfect. In this book, we meet Kara who has always been 'perfect.' When her life gets beyond her control and things start to get a little bit crazy, the story really gets going. This is a book that kept me reading and wanting to know what would happen next.

I liked this story because the characters were interesting and it did not go exactly how I thought it would. It was an interesting plot and an interesting read.

If you enjoy a book that has good YA feel that is different (in a good way), I recommend this book for you. Thanks for the opportunity to read! More information below if you want to pick it up! 

Happy Reading!

A girl’s quest for perfection results in dangerous consequences in this layered, suspenseful YA novel by the author of Playlist for the Dead.

How far would you go to be perfect?

Kara has the perfect life. She gets perfect grades. She never messes up. Until now. Because perfection is an illusion, and Kara has been struggling to maintain it for as long as she can remember. With so much pressure to succeed, it’s hard not to do whatever it takes. 

But when Kara takes a new underground drug to help her ace the SATs, she doesn’t expect to get a text from a blocked sender, telling her to follow a set of mysterious instructions—or risk her dark secret getting out. Soon she finds herself part of a group of teens with secrets of their own, who are all under the thumb of the same anonymous texter. And if they don’t find a way to stop the blackmailer, their perfect futures will go up in flames.

This dark, emotionally resonant contemporary YA novel is perfect for fans of We Were Liars and The Secret History.

LINKS: Amazon | B&N

Michelle Falkoff's fiction and reviews have been published in ZYZZYVADoubleTake and the Harvard Review, among other places. She is a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop and currently serves as Director of Communication and Legal Reasoning at Northwestern University School of Law.

LINKS: Website | Twitter | Facebook

Tour Schedule:
Week 1:

Week 2:

3 Finished Copies of PUSHING PERFECT (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway