Book Review: Goodbye Days

Friday, June 9, 2017

Author: Jeff Zentner
Summary from Publisher: 
“Gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming.” —Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything.

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, Looking for Alaska, and Zentner’s own The Serpent King, one of the most highly acclaimed YA novels of 2016, Goodbye Days asks what you would do if you could spend one last day with someone you lost.

Where are you guys? Text me back. That’s the last message Carver Briggs will ever send his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. He never thought that it would lead to their death.

Now Carver can’t stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, a powerful judge is pressuring the district attorney to open up a criminal investigation.

Luckily, Carver has some unexpected allies: Eli’s girlfriend, the only person to stand by him at school; Dr. Mendez, his new therapist; and Blake’s grandmother, who asks Carver to spend a “goodbye day” together to share their memories and say a proper farewell.

Soon the other families are asking for their own goodbye day with Carver—but he’s unsure of their motives. Will they all be able to make peace with their losses, or will these goodbye days bring Carver one step closer to a complete breakdown or—even worse—prison?

“Jeff Zentner, you perfectly fill the John-Green-sized hole in our heart.”

“Evocative, heartbreaking, and beautifully written.” —Buzzfeed

“Masterful.” —

“Hold on to your heart: this book will wreck you, fix you, and most definitely change you.” —Becky Albertalli, Morris Award-winning author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Personal Review:
I was not sure what I thought about this book, but the way it was advertised made me interested in reading it. I enjoyed 13RW and also John Green, so I thought I would give it a chance. I am glad that I did. The book was an interesting read.

I enjoyed the plot most in this book. I know a number of other people who have read books by this author and really loved them. I liked the writing style and the way that the story unfolds. It kept you reading until the end.

The book generated a number of emotions in me. I had never really thought much about what it would be like to have a 'goodbye day' for someone you care about. The book was one that will stick with me for some time.
Disclaimer: I was awarded this book as part of the Blogging for Books. Though I did not pay for the book, the opinions are strictly my own.

Happy Reading!

No comments:

Post a Comment